If you were Bevell what would you change first?

For me i’d Get rid of the two gap scheme on our defensive line. I’d make them a one gap and have them try and penetrate upfield as much as the can. Especially with Shelton on IR. I think that plays more to the strengths of Williams and hand on the interior. Our linebackers don’t make plays anyway
Maybe we can get a few out of our dline this way. We really can’t be much worse than we already are with our current system.

3 Likes

I suspect he’s going to let Undlin do whatever Undlin wants to do on defense.

6 Likes

The old thin toilet paper in the far back bathroom…

State to the team that I’m a lame duck coach and you’re all auditioning for a place in this league.

Fresh baked toll house cookies anyone?

2 Likes

That’s the 2 finger discount toilet paper.

2 Likes

This is tough for me bc I don’t know how much autonomy he had on O. It wouldn’t shock me if MP with his ego, Intelligence and background as an OL coach was putting more input into what kind of O we had this year. Not sure though.

But here are two things I’d like to see on offense:

1:) more passes as runs on first down. Primarily Hock and Swift behind the line of scrimmage. Cephus would be solid in this regard as well as is DA.

2:) move Hock around a lot more (Split him way out wide, line him up in the backfield, H-Back, etc) and then make him a top 3-4 usage TE

2 Likes

Honest question - is it that easy to switch from a 2 gap to 1 gap, not only for DL but the LBs and their assignments as well as the rest of the D? Is that a quicker adjustment or does it require a whole season’s worth of prep?

I don’t know schematics like that so found your answer to be very insightful, so just looking for more insight!

Let’s have some FUN!!!

1 Like

Balls to the walll… pull out all the stops… unleash everyone!!!

1 Like

Well, now it will make more sense when there’s a headline about the “breakthrough” that Tavai had in practice.

1 Like