Jordan Davis at 2?

And I was listening to a The Valenti Show segment last week where Rico made the case for taking Jordan Davis second overall. He was pretty persuasive, at least for several guys in the room.

I am not super jazzed about taking a DL that doesn’t rush the passer that high in the draft. But if Hutchinson is gone, and we’re going to draft an athletic freak whose pass rush game will need to develop as a pro, I like Davis more than Walker—even if he never really penetrates, nobody will run on us, ever, and he’ll consistently suck up blockers.

So what does the board think? Is this insanity?

3 Likes

I don’t think any scenario is insanity because it’s a shitty year to have the #2 pick. It seems like the bust factor or not living up to the status of a #2 pick is high on all these guys. I literally don’t like any guy in this draft at 2 and I can’t remember any draft that just lacks elite talent like this one does. I think we are going edge rusher but honestly nothing would surprise me.

All I know is this. The slappies are going to love any pick we make and instantly put him in the HOF. For everyone else there isn’t going to be a consensus of love for who ever we pick.

4 Likes

I don’t understand why Davis is seen as a non-penetrating defender by some people. He constantly moves the LS and makes plays or reroutes the entire play. He is often double and triple teamed while doing it. When you are watching other Georgia players making plays Davis is often the catalyst for that play by changing the run lane or collapsing the pocket. The guy can ball at a high level.

7 Likes

So wouldn’t it be just right for Davis and walker to go top two…?!

The fans would be in suicide alert!!

1 Like