Josh Reynolds- 2 years up to 12M

I am interested to see what “up to 12M” means. I would love this if were 6M guaranteed with escalators for performance that capped it at 12M… He’s a big, fast enough, younger guy who Goff has chemistry with. So I have zero issues with him as our #3 option and Cephus as our #4, and Brown as our #2 so long as we get some depth at TE and at least 1 game changer.

4 Likes

I want St Brown as our 3. Reynolds as 4. Cepheus as 5. And 6 being a Khalif Raymond type special teams guy.

4 Likes

I think expecting Brown to be a #3 is a bit optimistic? I mean it could happen, but I think given we have a solid receiving TE, and RB, and what Brown accomplished as a rookie, I would say we have 3 of our top 4 receiving targets already in the fold. Having Cephus back and Reynolds as insurance is awesome. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to see us sign JuJu and draft a guy like C Watson to round it out. Im just glad to see us land a culture fit and at least raise the floor or the WR room a bit.

3 Likes

I like the signing but 6 mil a year is more than I thought he would get. So I’m assuming this is an incentive laden deal?

Which I am very much ok with. I wonder what his base pay is?

Curious to see the contract breakdown of this one.

3 Likes

My guess . . . $5M signing bonus, Base salary $2M (2022) and $4M (2023) with a $1M roster bonus due at the start of 2023 league year. Cap hits of $4.5M (2022) and $7.5M (2023).

Curious though, he only signed a 1yr $1.75M deal last year and didn’t put up great numbers.

7 Likes

That seems like a ton of money for a number 3 or 4 wr.

1 Like

The escalators are probably inline with WR1 or 2 (at worst). If he performs to get it all, them no issue for me. He literally has to earn it.

It is right in line with guys like Keelan Cole and Kendrick Bourne… and they signed last year when the cap took that dip that hurt lower level free agents.