Kayode Awosika's Debut

The announcers were glopping Skipper and Kayode together in most of their blather, understandably. Starting two 3rd string guards is a significant storyline, but to my eye Kayode played better and pretty well for his first start. Yes, he caused a quick sack by passing off a rusher to Sewell who was fully engaged with an edge rusher. And he got absolutely trucked on a run play that was a 4 yard loss.

But he moved well on pulls, they ran behind him on some critical short yardage plays, and pass blocked OK except when he blew that one assignment, IMO. No, I am not a trained professional. Any one else have an opinion?

I suppose PFF grades will resolve this in short order. LOL

2 Likes

Just some FYI here:
he Eagles lost promising offensive lineman Kayode Awosika off their practice squad, according to NFL Network’s Mike Garafolo.T

Garafolo reported that the Lions signed Awosika to their 53-man roster Wednesday.

Awosika, 23, joined the Eagles last summer as an undrafted rookie from Buffalo, where he was teammates with current Eagles tight end Tyree Jackson.

He spent the first 17 weeks of the season on the Eagles’ practice squad and was active for the meaningless season finale against the Cowboys, when he made his NFL debut and played 43 snaps.

He focused on both guard and tackle this past summer and didn’t have quite the training camp he had as a rookie. When the Eagles were down three left tackles — Jordan Mailata and Andre Dillard had concussions and LeRaven Clark a hamstring injury — Awosika got first-team reps at left tackle, which did not go too well.

The Eagles released Awosika as part of final cuts on Aug. 30 and then signed him to the practice squad a day later.

1 Like

Maybe he’s an AWESOME depth guy, if he can back up 4 spots?
Maybe h can evolve into a starter.
It’ll be fun to find out.

1 Like

Meh.