Only one Lions player makes PFWA All-Rookie team!

The Pro Football Writers of America votes on which rookies make the All Rookie team.

M. Parsons was the Defensive Rookie of the year while J. Chase was the offensive rookie of the year.

We didn’t draft either of those guys but we did draft one player who made the all rookie team. I leave off who that player is and let you read it for yourself.

Three teams – the Cleveland Browns, Kansas City Chiefs and Miami Dolphins – each had three All-Rookie selections.

The Bengals, Denver Broncos, Los Angeles Chargers, New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers each had two selections.

For those wondering. The Lions had no one make the All-NFL team. Although one rookie did. That was M. Parsons.

Here’s that list for those wondering who made it.

1 Like

Can’t help but notice J-Will on there…damn it!

1 Like

PFWA NFL ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1980 – RB Billy Sims, Detroit Lions
PFWA NFL OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1992 — PK Jason Hanson, Detroit Lions
PFWA NFL DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 2010 — DT Ndamukong Suh, Detroit Lions

wtf happened in 1992 that a kicker was the offensive rookie?

1 Like

Good catch. Here is a link to the AP award voting results (different service). The AP had Hanson 3rd in offensive rookie votes, which is still really high. The winner was a receiver with 326 yards and 1 TD. Which is kind of like saying “ain’t no way we gonna give this to a damn kicker.”

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 240 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.