Rams expected to trade/release Leonard Floyd

https://twitter.com/AdamSchefter/status/1632758756445437956

$15.5M this year, $16M in 2024.

Ill be honest, dude benefited a bit from being with Aaron Donald and Von miller that half season

i think hes a good pass rusher, but more like #2, than a premier rusher

While i dont think he would be a bad fit, Edge Rush is prolly one of our stronger spots outside of Depth

dont think we pursue him in either scenario.

2 Likes

Agreed, I’m not a huge fan either. Now if he’s cheap enough then why not, but I doubt he is looking for a 1 year 6-7mil deal.

1 Like

I don’t think we pursue him either, at least not by trade and not at that price, but he had 4 sacks in 6 games last year without Donald or Miller.

2 Likes

i dont think hes bad, but i do think he benefitted from playing with both

question is price range tbh

Yea, the Lions don’t really need another edge rusher, but big loss for the Rams defense. Floyd has 29 sacks and 60 QB hits over the past 3 seasons.

That Rams defense is down Floyd and Wagner now. And Ramsey is on the trade block.

Floyd is being released today according to Schefty

I am convinced the Rams are tanking in an attempt to get their future QB. These moves save virtually nothing in terms of cap savings. I fully expect everyone to go aside from Kupp and Donald.

You just don’t release players like Wagner and Floyd to save 5m and 3m against the 2023 cap.

It pulls the bandaid off now to open up $22.5M next season (Leonard Floyd). For Wagner it pulls the bandaid off and opens up another $12M next season. So while it doesn’t seem like much money for the current season, it opens up much bigger money the following year and going forward.

Now that I’ve looked at the numbers and speculated on the motive, it seems like they are doing a 1 year reset and will probably go hard again in 2024.

2 Likes

We need Greg Gaines or Dre’Mont Jones and there is a few others but need help in the middle.