The Collaborative Process...Examples Where it Could Really Have Helped

There is a lot of talk about office structures, Woods’s role and so on and honestly I don’t want to pretend like I am an expert in professional football structures, asset management or the decision making process.

I think it is worth noting the head coach has been elevated to have a larger role in personnel or at least a powerful voice.

I thought it worth exploring past decisions that maybe the Lions could have avoided if they had involved coaches into the draft process.

I am looking right at the 2001 draft for starters. Millen’s first draft along as he let Bill Tobin go after their first draft (which was really, really good) but the team was not committing to Charlie Batch so:
Drew Brees. A committee may have been smart enough to find a way to work with Batch still and use a pick on a QB to groom if the room was split on Batch. Batch just wrapped up his 3rd season with the Lions and Drew Brees was on the board. That was the move to make and a smart team could have seen how competition at the QB spot would have been the way to go in that draft. I love me some Backus of course and many on this board way back then wanted Brees as he was that good at Purdue.

Next draft we get Harrington. Hard to image a great scout not seeing the flaws in Joey’s game and his personality that might be a problem in the pro game. Nope, we didn’t have a QB which led to reaching for Harrington as there was no QB plan in place for Millen who controlled the whole show.

The point isn’t to bang on Millen but to see how this process can really work.