Venison Recipes

Just wanted to create a thread for insight on how other prefer their wildgame, venison in particular. Please feel free to share recipes as well!!!

I am new to smoking venison. I use a 22" webber kettle grill for all my smoking. I also make muscle jerky and ground jerky.

My old man makes venison sausage and bear sausage.

We clean our venison burger up really good and have it in chili, gravy and spaghetti…

Other cuts I enjoy are steaks, roasts and slices in gravy as well (over mashed potatoes or noodles), chunks in stew or soup.

Also, can’t go wrong with slices in everything eggs, Sliced steak in venison cheesesteak, and venison burgers with the burger!

1 Like

We recently ran out of venison, didnt need to get a deer last year but this year was time to restock the freezer. We got a couple bucks this year, one in bow and one in rifle. I usually get a good 2 years out of our venison when freezing. We process our own and use freezer paper, prewrap the meat in saran wrap for added protection. We’ve shot 8 bucks since 2017. Two were 2.5 years old and the rest were 3.5 years to 5.5 years old.

I had forgot about the heart in the fridge from my sons deer from last friday. I have no clue how long it’ll last in a 35 degree fridge. So, unsure as i was I decided to slice it up for some heart jerky for dog treats… but after seasoning it and seeing the meat appeared to be good and smelled fine I may be eating it for myself!

Heart jerky is a new one for us.

I dig Venison loin. But I like my meats medium rare. I tend to find those on the well done side of things are often less of a fan.

Key to a good venison steak is to cook it quickly on high heat. Leaving it medium rare in the middle.

3 Likes

I eat venison loin

IMG_8388

Truthfully, I was expecting one of these… But I didn’t expect it to be nearly this funny

AWESOME!!!

a good roast or backstrap on the smoker:

marinade for 24 hrs in pineapple juice with the rings on top the meat (flip after 12 hrs)