Just got a 160k BTU outdoor wok burner. Give me your best stir fry recipes!

This is something that I’ve been saving up for since around 2019. I even had to be put on a two month long waiting list to get.

Ive got Kenji Lopez-Alt’s Wok cookbook, but I still want all of your best stir-fry and/or chinese food recipes.

Im expecting a hige learning curve, but I can’t wait to actually achieve wok hei on dishes like Kung Pao. Wok hei is impossible on a regular home stovetop, so this is a big deal for a food dork like me.

4 Likes

Need a pic!!

1 Like

Do stovetop woks not come with a hei setting, just medium and Lo?

Mein, that’s racist!

3 Likes

Like to get a chunk of rump steak and velvet it up. sautee some garlic shallots and peppers in some neutral oil or tallow then your beef. Add some oyster sauce, soynsauce, sesame saice…drop in some green beans or broccoli. sautee until desired tenderness

top with sesame seeds some green onions and enjoy

My very first cooking gig was a fine dining pan Asian wok centric place in Chicago. They’d did like 6-700 covers on a busy Saturday night. Initially I got completely assailed. Crashed and burned hard. Little 4’11" Chinese women exec just letting me have it (in an open kitchen). The sound of the receipts printing taunting me as I’d get further in further in the weeds. Trying to be poker faced in this hip joint as the wall of worry climbs my insides. And then … you figure it out. But bad culinary shifts, man … there just are no words.

1 Like

I like the American Wok centric place in Streeterville…the Weber Grill restaurant. The smoke coming out of that place was amazing to smell.

Oops it’s River North, west of Mag Mile not east.

2 blocks away, Fado’, great Irish pub

Big fan of Kenji as well. Awesome to hear other den members are fans. I just use a torch for mediocre wok hei. You are gonna get some excellent wok hei with that wok burner!

1 Like